The Department of Mathematics, Informatics and Computational Sciences (Formerly a component in Basic Science Unit)  was established on 1st July 1999.  It is one of the first four departments under the Faculty of Science. It is this department which had mandate to offer all Mathematics, Statistics and Informatics courses to undergraduate programmes offered at Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA).